Maserati Biturbo 425

Brand Maserati
Model Biturbo 425
Color Red
Transmission Manual 5-speed
Pk 200 ch
Mileage 158.318 km
Year 1985
Price 7.500€

The 425 sedan (for 4 doors, 2.5 liters) was presented at the traditional press conference on December 14, 1983. It was the very first Biturbo sedan. Designed in the same way as the Biturbo coupé by Pierangelo Andreani, it incorporated as many parts as possible (hood, mechanics, running gear). But the sedan gained 24 cm in length (4.39 m), 8.9 cm in wheelbase (2.60 m) and 6 cm in height for rear passenger headroom (1.36 m). It remained compact, however, slightly larger than the 4-door BMW 3 Series, and was not given the “Quattroporte” appellation, as the Quattroporte III was produced alongside the Biturbo until 1990.

The 425 inaugurates the rounded dashboard and the oval Bouchet-Lassale watch, gilded and turned slightly towards the driver. The rounded dashboard will be found on the Biturbo up to the Ghibli II and Quattroporte IV, with a slightly different graphic design, and the Swiss Lassale watch will become a Maserati classic, since the oval shape of the watches will still be present in 2021.

With its compact appearance, the 425 was seen as a competitor to the 4-door BMW 3-series, but was in fact much more expensive and dynamic. Priced at 249,000 French francs in 1987 (worth 65,000 euros in 2020), its price was closer to that of larger sedans such as the 6-cylinder Jaguar XJ, BMW 5 and early 7 series, Mercedes 280 and early S.

The 425 belongs to the first Biturbo generation, and with good reason: it was the very first Biturbo sedan, and Pierangelo Andreani had already begun work on it in 1981, even before the presentation of the Biturbo coupé on December 14, 1981.

Legroom for rear passengers is excellent in the 425, better than the photos would suggest because the rear seat is long. There’s much more legroom than in a much longer Jaguar XJ 6 from the same era (I tested both in the rear).

In the Biturbo epic, the 425 inaugurated quite a few things: 4 doors, of course, but also the digital name (425), the rounded dashboard, the Lassale watch, the Maserati inscription on the (real) wood of the dashboard and new door handles:

The Maserati 425 uses the carbureted 2.5-liter V6 Biturbo engine without intercooler that was released on the Biturbo E (Export) coupe in 1983. However, this engine is boosted from 185 (on the coupé) to 200 hp (on the 425) in order to compensate for the 100 kg of extra weight (very relative at 1180 kg) of the saloon compared to the Biturbo coupé (1086 kg):

With its 200 hp engine, the 425 is well equipped to be at ease in all circumstances. As the weight of this compact sedan was kept to a minimum, its performance was first-rate for its time, with a 0 to 100 km/h time of 6.9 seconds and a top speed of 215 km/h. However, while the very supple suspension settings give the car undeniable comfort, you have to remain humble with the throttle when cornering, as the running gear is a little overwhelmed by the power of the engine in a very sporty attack. But in normal use, the pretty 425 is most pleasant and comfortable to drive serenely.

From mid-1985 onwards, improvements to the Biturbo II coupé appeared on the 425: Sensitork self-locking differential to replace the rudimentary Salisbury, MABC electronic turbo boost control and water-cooled turbos.

The 425 carbu was produced from March 1984 to January 1987, when it was replaced by the 425 i, produced from February 1987 to February 1988, when it was replaced by the 430.

This model has a fairly comprehensive service history, with a number of parts replaced. The air conditioning works. It comes with its original manual and service booklet. Its last owner kept the car for 32 years.

Work in the last 5,000 km :

  • clutch
  • overhaul of steering rack and replacement of suspension silentblocks
  • brake system overhaul
  • geometry
  • all belts, timing belt made in June 2024
  • valve adjustment
  • igniter adjustment
  • new exhaust system

The interior is perfect and free of defects. The chassis is corrosion-free and spotless. On the bodywork, there’s corrosion at the end of the right front fender, at the bottom of the passenger door and around the right front fender (see photos in the file below).

Maserati Biturbo 425

Marque Maserati
Modèle Biturbo 425
Couleur Rouge
Transmission Manuelle 5 rapports
Puissance 200 ch
Kilométrage 158.318 km
Année 1985
Prix 7.500€

La berline 425 (pour 4 portes, 2.5 litres) fut présentée à la traditionnelle conférence de presse du 14 décembre 1983. Elle fut la toute première berline Biturbo. Dessinée comme le coupé Biturbo par Pierangelo Andreani, elle en reprenait un maximum de pièces (capot moteur, mécanique, trains roulants). Mais la berline gagnait 24 cm en longueur (4.39 m), 8.9 cm en empattement (2.60 m) et 6 centimètres en hauteur pour la garde au toit des passagers arrière (1.36 m). Elle demeurait cependant compacte, légèrement plus grande que la BMW série 3 à 4 portes, et ne fut pas gratifiée de l’appellation « Quattroporte » car la Quattroporte III était produite en parallèle des Biturbo jusqu’en 1990.

La 425 inaugure le tableau de bord arrondi et la montre ovale Bouchet-Lassale, dorée et tournée légèrement vers le pilote. Le tableau de bord arrondi va se retrouver sur les Biturbo jusqu’à la Ghibli II et la Quattroporte IV avec un graphisme un petit peu différent et la montre suisse Lassale va devenir un très grand classique Maserati, puisque la forme ovale des montres reste encore présente en 2021.

Par son aspect compact, la 425 se posait en concurente des BMW série 3 à 4 portes mais elle était en fait beaucoup plus chère et dynamique. Tarifée 249 000 francs français en 1987 (valeur 65 000 euros de 2020), son prix était plus proche de celui de berlines plus grandes telles les Jaguar XJ 6 cylindres, les BMW série 5 et premières 7, les Mercedes 280 et premières S.

La 425 appartient à la première génération des Biturbo et pour cause : elle fut la toute première des berlines Biturbo et Pierangelo Andreani avait commencé à travailler sur elle dès 1981, avant même la présentation du coupé Biturbo le 14 décembre 1981.

A noter que la place dévolue aux jambes des passagers arrière est excellente dans la 425, meilleure que ce que les photos ne le laisseraient penser car l’assise arrière est longue. On a bien plus de place pour ses jambes que dans une Jaguar XJ 6 de la même époque, pourtant bien plus longue (j’ai testé les deux à l’arrière).

Dans l’épopée Biturbo, la 425 a ainsi inauguré pas mal de choses : les 4 portes bien-sûr mais aussi l’appellation numérique (425), le tableau de bord arrondi, la montre Lassale, l’inscription Maserati sur le (vrai) bois de la planche de bord et de nouvelles poignées de portières :

La Maserati 425 reprend le moteur V6 Biturbo 2.5 litres carbu sans intercooler qui était sorti sur le coupé Biturbo E (Exportation) durant l’année 1983. Cependant ce moteur est poussé de 185 (sur le coupé) à 200 cv (sur la 425) afin de pallier aux 100 kg d’embonpoint (très relatif à 1180 kg) de la berline par rapport au coupé Biturbo (1086 kg) :

Avec ce bon moteur de 200 cv, la 425 est bien pourvue pour être à l’aise en toute circonstances. Le poids de cette compacte berline ayant été très contenu, ses performances sont de tout premier ordre pour l’époque avec un 0 à 100 km/h en 6.9 secondes et 215 km/h en vitesse de pointe. Cependant, si le réglage très souple de la suspension confère à l’auto un indéniable confort, il faut demeurer humble avec l’accélérateur en virage car les trains roulants sont un peu dépassés par la puissance du moteur en attaque très sportive. Mais en usage normal, la jolie 425 est des plus agréables et confortables à mener sereinement.

A partir de la moité de 1985 apparaissent sur la 425 les améliorations du coupé Biturbo II : différentiel autobloquant Sensitork en remplacement du rudimentaire Salisbury, système de contrôle électronique du boost des turbos (MABC) et turbos refroidis par eau.

La 425 carbu a été produite de mars 1984 à janvier 1987 où elle a été remplacée par la 425 i qui sera produite de février 1987 à février 1988 où elle laissera la place à la 430.

Cet exemplaire possède un dossier d’entretient assez complet, avec le remplacement de pas mal de pièces. La climatisation fonctionne. Elle possède son manuel d’origine, ainsi que son carnet d’entretien original. Son dernier propriétaire a gardé la voiture 32 ans.

Travaux dans les 5.000 derniers km :

  • embrayage
  • révision de la crémaillère de direction et remplacement des silentbloc de suspension
  • révision système de freinage
  • géométrie
  • toutes les courroies, courroie de distribution faite en juin 2024
  • réglage des soupapes
  • réglage de l’allumeur
  • nouvelle ligne d’échappement

L’intérieur est parfait et ne présente aucun défaut. Le chassis ne présente aucune corrosion et est impeccable. Au niveau de la carrosserie, il y a de la corrosion au bout de l’aile avant droite, bas de portière passager et sur le tour d’aile avant droit (voir photos dans le dossier ci-dessous).